State of Creativity Forum 2013


Tuesday, November 19

9:15-9:22 a.m.

Bridging Great Ideas to Entrepreneurial Success

Charles Nelson, II, President & Co-Founder, Sprinkles Cupcakes
Candace Nelson, Founder & Pastry Chef, Sprinkles Cupcakes

The global cupcake phenomenon began with an idea by Candace and Charles Nelson, II, co-founders of Sprinkles Cupcakes. Charles, a 2013 Oklahoma Creativity Ambassador, and Candace, a TV regular on the “Cupcake Wars,” will talk about their entrepreneurial success.

Charles Nelson  Candace Nelson

9:25-9:50 p.m.

Does Creative Thinking and Innovation Fuel Our Economy?
David Goldstein, Author, Creative You: Using Your Personality Type To Thrive
Brad Moore, President, Hallmark Hall of Fame Productions
Charles Nelson II, President & Co-Founder, Sprinkles Cupcakes
Candace Nelson, Founder & Pastry Chef, Sprinkles Cupcakes
Cathy Tripodi, Senior Vice President, Council on Competitiveness
Dan Maloney, CEO & Co-founder, Tailwind

Join David Goldstein as he facilitates an intriguing conversation with corporate and entrepreneurial leaders sharing their perspectives on how important creative thinking and innovation is to our economic growth and well-being.             

David Goldstein  David Goldstein  Charles Nelson  Candace Nelson  Cathy Tripodi  Dan Maloney

12:10-12:40 p.m.

Creative Ideas Transforming Communities
David Burkus, Author, The Myths of Creativity
Peter Sims, Co-Founder/Director, Fuse Corps
Jennifer Anastasoff, Co-Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Fuse Corps
Justine Rukeba Mbabazi, Author, This is Your Time, Rwanda
Mick Cornett, Mayor, City of Oklahoma City

The most sought after regions for livability are those brimming with creative energy and new ideas fostering entrepreneurial start-ups and solutions to societal problems. Join co-founders of FuseCorps, Peter Sims and Jennifer Anastasoff, for a conversation with Oklahoma City’s mayor, Mick Cornett, and Rwandan author, Justine Mbabazi, as they explore how creative ideas have reshaped both an American city and an African nation.

David Burkus  Peter Sims  Jennifer Anastasoff  Justine Mbabazi  Mick Cornett

2:15-2:35 p.m.

Bridge Conversation—What New Research Tells Us About the Role of Creativity & Learning
Dr. Rex Jung, Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery, University of New Mexico
Dr. Ben Michaelis, Clinical Psychologist
James Catterall, Professor Emeritus, UCLA Graduate School of Education & Information Studies
Dr. Michael Raiber, President, Oklahoma Music Educators Association

Dr. Stephen McKeever, Secretary for Science and Technology, State of Oklahoma

New scientific evidence about the human brain, how we learn, and the impact that stress and fear-based environments have on our learning capacities and mental health is shared by researchers and scientists who have been studying the field of creativity and learning for many years.

Rex Jung  Ben Michaelis  James Catterall  Michael Raiber  Stephen McKeever

2:55-3:20 p.m.

Bridge Conversation—The Bridge from Education to 21st Century Learning
Dennis Cheek, Executive Director, National Creativity Network
Robert Sommers, Oklahoma Secretary of Education & Workforce Development, State Director, Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education
Valerie Greenhill, Chief Learning Officer, EdLeader21
Dr. Peter Gamwell, Superintendent, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
Jean Hendrickson, Executive Director, Oklahoma A+ Schools
Nikhil Goyal, Author, School on Trial
Derek Brown, Managing Director, Actorshop Ltd

Over the last 200 years, education of America’s children has been largely defined by the continuance of the 19th century Industrial Age model with classrooms lining up students in rows to memorize and regurgitate facts. Today’s societal and complex economic issues demand new solutions and training children to learn in ways that encourage idea generation, invention, and entrepreneurial thinking. This august group of national and international experts explores where education is today and where it is heading.

Dennis Cheek Robert Sommers Valerie Greenhill Peter Gamwell Jean Hendrickson Nikhil Goyal Derek Brown